Department Of Physics

Faculty of Pure & Applied Sciences

The UCY Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences was founded in 1989. The Faculty is currently located on the new University Campus and consists of the following five departments:

  • Department of Biological Sciences
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  • Department of Physics

The above mentioned departments currently offer six undergraduate degree programmes and fourteen postgraduate degree programmes leading to Master's and PhD degrees, that are fully compatible with European standards and produce scientists who are well trained and able to meet the current and future challenges in science. An important goal of the Faculty is to establish itself in the International Scientific Community in the relative research fields. The Faculty's Departments attach major importance to research, since it is through research that one of the faculty's foremost missions is accomplished, while, on the other hand, research enables science to contribute to local industry and, more generally, to Cypriot society at large (in sectors such as Economy, Education and Training, Health etc.). Furthermore our Departments recognize the significance of basic, as well as of applied research which can be useful to local industry.

Department Of Physics

The University of Cyprus (UCY) has recently finished construction of a new University Campus, which covers an area of approximately 1.2 km2. It consists of academic buildings, sports facilities and student residences. These facilities host the Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences, including all teaching and research activities of the Department of Physics. One of the first to be completed, the Department of Physics provides modern premises, state-of-the-art computing facilities and cutting-edge laboratories for teaching and scientific research.  
The first students in Physics entered in 1993; each year approximately 30 undergraduate students are admitted. Besides undergraduate studies, the Department offers graduate programs leading to Master's and PhD degrees. There are 10 positions for graduate students every year. Special emphasis is placed on balanced learning both from classroom and laboratory. Teaching consists mainly of lectures and laboratory courses, supplemented by seminars and tutorial sessions.


An important goal of the Department of Physics is to establish itself in the international scientific community. Research is conducted in areas of both Fundamental and Applied Physics, in Theory as well as Experiment. Members of the Department take part in international research programs and collaborate with Research Centers and Universities abroad. The advancement of a broad spectrum of research programs enriches the degree programs of the Department by offering students closer contact with current ideas and problems in Physics. At the same time, it is expected to contribute to the growth in research activity, technological development and to the economic progress of Cyprus.